27 November 2010

blckdth006: History Has Taught Us Nothing

Stockholm Syndrome
"History Has Taught Us Nothing" (2003)

01. Hostage
02. History Has Taught Us Nothing
03. Zombie Nation
04. The Condition
05. Goals Are Set But Never Reached
06. A Moth To A Flame
07. Embedded In You
08. Nothing But Time
09. What Once Was A Line
10. Godforsaken Soil
11. Our Last Goodbye
12. Red Host

Still one of the finest releases in the Black Death catalogue. In 2003 Stockholm Syndrome and Studio 195 delivered 12 songs with awesome riffs, thought-through lyrics and a great sound. All in all 32 very exciting minutes of modern hardcore, heavily inspired by and compared to the likes of Refused, At The Drive-In, Botch, Rollins Band, Boysetsfire and even Thin Lizzy. It was their first and last full-length and with this album the band took off for real, touring Europe and opening for bands such as JR Ewing, Shai Hulud, Nine and The Hope Conspiracy. It was also the last release with bassist Jeroen who left the band to form Dead Rivers. Download it free or buy the cd, we got a few copies left:


22 November 2010

blckdth005: The Coffinkids

The Coffinkids
"The Coffinkids" (2002)

01. Rock 'N Roll Bootcamp
02. Disgruntled Postalworker
03. Out To Lunch
04. Turn Around
05. Kelly
06. Lean
07. Look Through Any Window
08. Police Academy Dropout
09. I'm In Rome
10. Rope

The Coffinkids formed in 1998 and split up in 2005. In between they recorded songs, played shows and drank beer. They did so in Holland (obviously) but also in some other countries like Germany, Belgium and Luxembourg. They released a demotape in 1999, a split with Bob Miller in 2000, a full-length in 2002 and a bunch of songs on various compilations throughout the years. They also recorded a second full-length which never saw the light of day. I posted the split with BM here a couple of months ago, and here is that first full-length from 2002:


14 November 2010

Big Bucket O' Wings

"Big Bucket O' Wings" (1998)

1. Glued To You
2. Ralph Malph
3. Pizza Cats
4. Punks Vs. Scum
5. Doobie
6. Fuckin' A
7. L.O.P.
8. Blast-O-Me
9. Butt Seriously

Another dead band from current Envy The West / Otis / Lugosi etc etc members. In fact, this was their very first band. Grobbebol (don't let the crappy name fool you) was an awesome trio that played ultrafast and tight punkrock like NRA or early Hives or something. In 1998 they released this mindblowing demotape:


08 November 2010

Unborn To Be Wild

The Unborn
"Unborn To Be Wild" (2007)

01. Hot Flash
02. It's All Over
03. Hands Over Mouth
04. 'Em
05. Aids Party
06. Ghost Ship
07. Saturday Night Tyfus
08. Kids Did This
09. I'm Unwild
10. Girl Crazy
11. Punch You In The Babymaker
12. Unborn Olé Olé
13. Fools Idiots Freaks

Their second album: 13 minutes of more of the same but this time they also threw a little Tragedy and Sonic Youth in there, and "Ghost Ship" sounds like Slayer for 6-year-olds. Again recorded at 195 in no time, and also nominated for a Black Death vinyl re-release, probably when hell freezes over. Great album, steal it right here:


06 November 2010

Zero Fucken Inch

The Unborn
"Zero Fucken Inch" (2005)

01. Al Capone
02. Bad Seed
03. Rosemary
04. Another Kick In The Womb
05. Won't Work Anymore
06. Estée Louder
07. Cocorico Monsieur Poulet
08. Unborn In The USA
09. Horse's Mouth / Cry Baby Shit
10. John The Baptist
11. Caught Redhanded
12. Budget Cuts

The Unborn's first album contains 13 songs (the tracklist says 12, but track 9 contains 2 songs because nobody was paying attention during the mastering process) in less than 12 minutes, and was recorded and mixed in about a day at Studio 195. The result is this cacophony of Minor Threat and early Hüsker Dü played by a bunch of retards who can barely hold their instruments. The original Bano Records cd has been sold out forever but Black Death will someday re-release it on vinyl if all goes well (and to be honest, not a lot goes well with The Unborn) but until then you can grab it here for free:


01 November 2010

God Mode

Ground Control
"God Mode" (1998)

01. Am I Ignorant
02. God Mode
03. Remix Of Unsuccess
04. Art Of Insult
05. In Ruins
06. Spare The Tears

On a recent trip to France with Otis we were playing this ancient Ground Control CD on the car stereo and found out that these songs still sound great. Ground Control was a crossover hardcore band by the people that formed Textures and Otis years later, their "God Mode" EP here was recorded in 1998 at Studio 195. We still have some copies left in the store, and you can download the whole thing (including its epic ghost track) right here: